Reviews written by Guest

9 results - showing 1 - 9
 
Science & Consciousness
 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Style 
 
5.0
Content 
 
5.0
Consciousness 
 
5.0
Guest Reviewed by    June 17, 2010
  -  

My long-time interest in Pythagoras' life and teachings was stimulated by my frequent encounters with ideas, discoveries, theories, and teachings in various books related to mystical teachings, philosophy, and mathematics. However, my interest was frustrated by the fact that I was never able to find a single book that put everything together in a coherent whole. Well, I finally found a book that filled the void and this is it. This book is filled with quotes, comments, and descriptions of Pythagoras and his teachings and is organized in short chapters that lend themselves to daily study and contemplation.

The book is divided into four parts and here is brief list of the contents:
1. The Life of Pythagoras
2. The disciplines and doctrines of the Pythagoreans
3. The doctrine of Pythagoras
Mathematical Sciences
Philosophy
Symbols
Pythagorean Commentators

I am enjoying working my way through this book in daily readings and I have no doubt that anyone interested in learning more about this remarkable mystic, philosopher, mathematical and all-around genius would enjoy it as well.

Was this review helpful to you? 
00
Report this review
Body, Mind & Spirit
 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Style 
 
5.0
Content 
 
5.0
Consciousness 
 
5.0
Guest Reviewed by    June 10, 2010
  -  

If you're familiar with Carl Jung and his work then you've probably heard of this book before. This is his personal journal from which he worked out many of the theories he later described in his voluminous writings. I've wanted to read this book for over 30 years and now it's here, beautifully and artfully presented in an large format with photographic quality facsimiles of the original pages. It's not an exaggeration to describe this previously private journal as a revelation.

Was this review helpful to you? 
00
Report this review
Self-Help & Empowerment
 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Style 
 
5.0
Content 
 
5.0
Consciousness 
 
5.0
Guest Reviewed by    June 10, 2010
  -  

This book is written to give people with OCD an effective strategy for overcoming this “doubting disease”, as Jeff Bell describes it. However, the principles and practices suggested here would benefit anyone suffering from uncertainty, especially in these times of financial and global instability. Specifically, anyone could benefit from learning the distinction between healthy Intellect-based doubt and unhealthy fear-based doubt unhealthy and exaggerated doubts and reactions and this distinction is explained here and anyone could benefit from the strategies for confronting fear and worry.

The approach recommended in this book for overcoming the debilitating effects of OCD are based on Cognitive behavioral therapy (CBT), or ERP Exposure/Response – Prevention specifically. The essential keys for making this happen are what Jeff calls the Ten Steps out of Doubt. Of course, the book goes into sufficient detail to explain how and why these steps work as well as how to apply them.

1. Choose to see the universe as friendly
2. Embrace the possibility in every moment
3. Affirm your universal potential
4. Put your commitments ahead of your comfort.
5. Keep sight of the big picture and the Greater Good
6. Claim and exercise your freedom to choose.
7. Picture possibility and “direct” your attention
8. Act from abundance in ways that empower
9. Accept and let go of what you cannot control
10. Allow for bigger plans than your own to unfold

This book is a fairly quick read and the methods are easy to understand and apply. As Jeff states, there is no magical cure for OCD but through hard work and time, it is possible to adjust thought patterns so that the bully (his metaphor for OCD) loses it power.

Was this review helpful to you? 
00
Report this review
Body, Mind & Spirit
 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Style 
 
5.0
Content 
 
5.0
Consciousness 
 
5.0
Guest Reviewed by    May 15, 2010
  -  

Wow, this is a wonderful book that belongs in the library of anyone with an interest in spiritual growth, yoga, tai chi, qi gong, EFT, or any other discipline related to the subtle energy systems of the human body. This truly is truly an encyclopedic reference of all things related to the subtle body and its operations.

I've studied a variety of spiritual practices and disciplines over the years where I encountered a variety of schema about the subtle body and subtle energies and it has always been a challenge trying to correlate the different systems. This encyclopedia solves that problem because it organizes all of these approaches into a single, readable text. This is a book I'll keep referring back to again and again.

Below is a quote from the editorial reviews above and I'm repeating it because it states my views exactly.

"An extraordinary body of work. The Subtle Body belongs in the library of every truly conscious person on the planet."-- Christiane Northrup, M.D., author of Women's Bodies, Women's Wisdom

Was this review helpful to you? 
00
Report this review
Self-Help & Empowerment
 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Style 
 
5.0
Content 
 
5.0
Consciousness 
 
5.0
Guest Reviewed by    May 15, 2010
  -  

This book is an honest and open-minded exploration of death and meaningful living that was prompted by the near death experience of the author. This book represents an inquiry that goes beyond western cultural and religious assumptions, myths, and dogma about the meaning of death life and death.

This book is divided into two parts. The first part of the book is a collection of various discussions and dialogues about living fully and dying well and the second part is a compilation of resources and practices for doing the same.

I think the best way to describe what this book is about is to share the questions that appear early in the book that drive the exploration and recommendations that appear later on.

From the book:

Living - How does an understanding of the process of dying help us to engage fully in our own life with meaning, purpose, and contentment? What examples and stories can help us to grasp this? How can I live my life in this way? How can I joyfully live my life in preparation for death? What meditations, prayers, mantras, visualizations, perspectives and attitudes should I learn and develop now so that I am ready for death at any moment?

Dying - The process of dying can be instant or it can last for hours, days, weeks, months, or years. What are the predictable stages of the dying process? How can we prepare for this? What tools and techniques can we acquire so that we can be content and purposeful in the dying process? How should we positively prepare and engage our family and friends in our dying process- psychologically, spiritually, emotionally, physically? How and when should we organize our living will, insurance, finances, possessions, businesses, and so on to prepare for the inevitable, yet uncertain time of our dying process? How should I plan for my own care if my death is slow, expensive, and painful? How should I involve family and friends? What are the options for helping me through the dying process, including spiritual guides, psychological counseling, treatment guides, assisted living, intensive care, home care, and hospice? How can I help my friends and loved ones in their process of dying?

Death - What is death? Is death the final act of our existence? Is death a process of transformation to another form of life? What happens when we die? What are the stages of death physically, emotionally, and intellectually? How can death become a meaningful, purposeful, transformative experience/ How can we be aware and conscious of dying and guide ourselves through it? How can we avoid fear and mental anguish? How can we do it with purpose and contentment?

Beyond- What do the worlds' spiritual traditions say about life beyond death? What is the philosophical rationale for life after death? What are the credible reports from both individuals and medical research about continued existence? How can I have knowledge and faith that I will continue to exist after my death/ How would faith in an afterlife alter the way I live m present life? How would my behavior and state of mind during my life, dying, and death influence the form, place, and quality of my continuing existence?

If you're interested in the answers to any or all of these questions, do yourself a favor and read this book for yourself.

Was this review helpful to you? 
00
Report this review
Self-Help & Empowerment
 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Style 
 
5.0
Content 
 
5.0
Consciousness 
 
5.0
Guest Reviewed by    May 15, 2010
  -  

This is a wonderful source book for anyone practicing yoga, anyone interested in human evolution, and certainly anyone practicing Kundalini Yoga. No, you won't find instructions on how to practice Kundalini Yoga because that is best learned from a competent teacher who understands the practice and can guide you through the potential dangers of incorrect practice.

The essays in this book are divided into 4 sections that are called parts. Part one is titled THE EXPERIENCE and it contains several personal accounts people who describe their experience of Kundalini awakening. The section part is titled KUNDALINI AND YOUR HEALTH and it's an exploration of the relationship of kundalini awakening to body, brain, and psychological health. The fourth part, titled KUNDALINI AT LARGE, is a collection of essays that explore Kundalini awakening in a historical, philosophical, and cultural context. The final part, titled KUNDALINI IN MOTION contains 4 essays, or musings and the book describes, by practicing yogis.

I can only summarize this review by saying that I believe this book belongs in the reference library of anyone involved in any sort of yogic or meditative practice from any tradition. The Kundalini Awakening can, and does, happen to anyone regardless of their spiritual or yogic tradition. In addition to simply having an understanding of this phenomenon, I believe it's wise to have information like this handy when, and if, this awakening happens to you.

Was this review helpful to you? 
10
Report this review
Self-Help & Empowerment
 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Style 
 
5.0
Content 
 
5.0
Consciousness 
 
5.0
Guest Reviewed by    May 15, 2010
  -  

This is a book that I could have written, if I was an author that is, because the approach to Self-Education proposed here is pretty much what I've been doing all of my life, with a great deal of success. I would add, however, that the earning of two degrees in my adult years helped me gain the credibility that is very difficult to have without the evidence of formal education that diplomas provide.

While I wouldn't underestimate the value of formal education, this book will show you how to develop your own program of study that can help you find success without it.

Was this review helpful to you? 
10
Report this review
Science & Consciousness
 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Style 
 
5.0
Content 
 
5.0
Consciousness 
 
5.0
Guest Reviewed by    May 15, 2010
  -  

I found this to be an interesting read overall although I lost some interest during the first third of the book or so that covers some historical and religious ground that relates, sometimes loosely, to the central theme of a conscious universe because I've read similar ideas before. However, for someone new to ideas that fall outside of mainstream religion, it's probably a helpful introduction.

Yes, as some previous reviewers noted, the author has criticized the failings of organized religion but he also criticizes the failings of dogmatic science so it seems to me that he's fair in presenting accurate criticism of both sides of the philosophical fence. I started getting more interested in the book when the focus turned towards recent scientific research.

Overall, I found this to be an engaging speculative piece that reminds me of the teachings I've found in eastern philosophy except that the dogma and mythology have been removed. I also appreciate the fact that these ideas are not being presented from the viewpoint of someone committed to a particular religious viewpoint but rather from the viewpoint of a free thinker who has the ability to consider the possibility of something that is clearly outside of the norm.

Was this review helpful to you? 
00
Report this review
Biography & Memoir
 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Style 
 
5.0
Content 
 
5.0
Consciousness 
 
5.0
Guest Reviewed by    May 15, 2010
  -  

I found this book by Russell Targ to be an interesting and entertaining read on two levels. It is an entertaining autobiography in a historical sense because of Mr. Targ's family's connection to the history of Europe during WWII, his father's influence in the publishing world, his participation in the development of the laser, his family connection to the genius chess master Bobby Fisher, and his involvement in the psychic spying and Remote Viewing programs sponsored by the CIA made famous by the recent film "Men Who Stare at Goats" with George Clooney.

This book, however, goes beyond being an interesting story because the narration is infused with Mr. Targ's keen sense of humor and a good amount of scientific, psychological, and spiritual insight. I enjoyed this book thoroughly and I would consider it to be required reading for anyone aware of and interested in Mr. Targ's work. I would also recommend this book to anyone interested in the history and development of Remote Viewing.

Was this review helpful to you? 
10
Report this review
9 results - showing 1 - 9